Introduction

Coming from a small southern town, I grew up hearing (not to be confused with listening to) country music.   All day, all the time – EVERYBODY listened to country music.  I decided well before I was a teenager that I wanted to break the monotony and look into other genres of music.  Thanks to the combination of YouTube, the radio, and grandparents with great recommendations, I became interested in music from the 1950s and 1960s (and eventually 1970s and 1980s).  Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly, Nat King Cole – you name it, I listened to it.  It eventually came to my attention that the music I listened to was made during the heyday of vinyl records.  While I cannot remember the exact sequence of events that led to my collecting vinyl records, I only knew that it made sense to listen to the albums in the format that they were meant to be listened to.  In 2012, I bought my first record, which was Fleetwood Mac’s 1975 self-titled album.  Thankfully, my dad still had his old childhood record player and was more than happy to set up a stereo system for my album.  Many record stores, flea markets, and Christmas presents later, my collection has grown to encompass everybody from Frank Sinatra to Fall Out Boy.

Retro Store Music Shopping Vinyl Records Audio

Photo Source
Leave a Reply

