Things You Learn as a Vinyl Record Collector

  • In 2017, almost every album you could imagine has been pressed on vinyl – Many of the albums I have were recorded after 2000. Chances are, your favorite album is available as a vinyl record.
  • It pays to be picky about where you buy your albums – In recent years, stores such as Urban Outfitters and Barnes & Noble have had a surge in vinyl sales; however, stores such as these, while easily accessible, tend to overprice their albums. The best deals are found at flea markets, thrift stores, and many used book stores.
  • “Old” does not mean “good” – Just because an album was recorded in the 1960s, does not mean that it is going to be worth your time. I learned this quickly when my grandma (with good intentions, of course) gave me a Porter Wagoner album.
  • You are surprised by how expensive some albums are – Some albums just aren’t worth it. While I would love to have a copy of the original pressing of The Beatles’ The White Album, they typically go for no less than $2000.  Yikes again.
  • You will be amazed at how eclectic your library becomes – As far as I know, I have at least one album from each genre of music.
  • You will love music even more than you thought possible – That said, if you are even remotely interested in vinyl records, I would encourage you to buy at least one album. As much as I loved music prior to starting my collection, hearing my favorite songs on vinyl completely changed my perspective.  You will gain a new appreciation for music.post-2
Photo Source
Leave a Reply

